We seek to understand and document all radio transmissions, legal and otherwise, as part of the radio listening hobby. We do not encourage any radio operations contrary to regulations. Always consult with the appropriate authorities if you have questions concerning what is permissible in your locale.

Author Topic: Total Newbie Question  (Read 1567 times)

Offline Strange Beacons

• Naples, Florida USA
    • View Profile
    • Strange Beacons Website
Total Newbie Question
« on: January 12, 2014, 0937 UTC »
What I know about shortwave radio would make for a very thin book but I really enjoy the hobby.

I have discovered a really cool decoder software program called fldigi. You can use it to decode all sorts of transmissions, such as RTTY, CW, and NAVTEX.

Total newbie question: I have a cheap Radio Shack ssb shortwave radio http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=21589936. Should I be able to dial in and hear NAVTEX transmissions on it?  The international NAVTEX frequency is 518 kHz, but I have not been able to locate the signal.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Offline skeezix

• Global Moderator
  • Marconi Class DXer
  • Minneapolis, MN
  • What does 'RNO stand for?
    • View Profile
Re: Total Newbie Question
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2014, 1831 UTC »
You should be able to use that radio. If you use USB, tune to 517 and fldigi will hear 'em. I use YaND for NAVTEX and really like it.

They're not on 24x7, but in the evenings/night you should be able to get a few of them.
Minneapolis, MN

Offline Strange Beacons

• Naples, Florida USA
    • View Profile
    • Strange Beacons Website
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2014, 2137 UTC »
Thanks, skeezix. I sometimes doubt the ability of my cheap setup.  But every now and then, it really comes through and amazes me. (One of these days I'll be able to afford a better radio).