Author Topic: does anyone on here know if an IRF610 is a replacement for a IRF510  (Read 1487 times)

ka1iic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 849
  • Troy, Ohio. 20m Vertical & low long wire E/W,
    • View Profile
    • Email
Serious question (yeah I know I seldom am are serious); does anyone on here know if an IRF610 is a good replacement for an IRF510 ? for RF and/or AF purposes or should I just bite the bullet and google for the spec sheets?  (hate doing that... sigh)

Thanks folks... :-)
73 Vince
KA1IIC

"If you can't be anything, you can at least be annoying"

Troy, Ohio. 20m Vertical & low long wire E/W, Yaesu FT-187ND, SDRplay 2, Ratt Shack 2 meter rig, and other little bits of electronics I'm not talking about, homebrewed and otherwise... so there bleech!

redhat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
  • Music is my drug.
    • View Profile
    • Email
It depends on what you need it for.  The '610 has a higher voltage rating, but lower current rating.  In your typical grenade, that could be a problem, and perhaps why bigger versions of the rig use the IRF530 instead.

+-RH
Somewhere under the stars...
WinRadio Excalibur/305 w/ a chi-town resonant loop, Kenwood KDC-U356 for mobile listening.
Please send QSL's and reception reports to xfmshortwave [at] gmail [d0t] com

moof

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
    • View Profile
I never had much luck even trying 530 for 510.  Just get some at Mouser.  7000 in stock.  $6.50 per 10 pack.  I better check my parts drawer.

Stretchyman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Time to move on 20+ years into the future!!!!!

TPH3206PSB

Get mine from DigiKey.

OK theyre 16 times the price but a much better device.

VERY easy to drive and a MUCH higher voltage rating.

I can easily get over 120W out of one where I'd struggle to get 40W from an IRF510.


To answer your question, Yes you can sub the 610 for a 510 but it's even worse a device with a 1.5R on resistance, that's 3 times what a 510 has so three times as lossy.

So running the 'usual' 12V and 4A peaks to get 40W RF for 48W in (typical single ended class E efficiency).

V = IR, So Volts dropped across the 610 will be 4 X 1.5 = 6V, so half your volts and W = VI, 6X4 = 24W lost in heat, Yeah great!

I'd give it a miss bud!

The GaN FET from Transphorm is little short of amazing and will work upto 20+ MHz with the right driver (NOT a 74HC240!)

OH, it's got a GROUNDED SOURCE TO TAB so doesnt need an insulating washer, YES!


Str.


'It's better to give than receive' so why RX when you can TX!

                            Buy one from me, NOW!

Great discounts on ALL my transmitters if purchased via HFUnderground


                                              ;)

ka1iic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 849
  • Troy, Ohio. 20m Vertical & low long wire E/W,
    • View Profile
    • Email
Thanks all for your replies they are great fully received... thank you all

Cost isn't a problem... I already have then... in my junk box :-)  An yes they are good and I assure you I didn't pay as much as a dollar for the lot... You see I'm cheap, don't you know <heh>

Power wise as in voltage input... not over 12 volts...  I don't build battery packs much over 12 volts...  I could and there is good reason to do it but I chose not too for certain reasons :-)  I am also quite stubborn...

QRP is up to and including 5 watts...  Pirate?  Hell no!  It's for the CW portion on the 40 meter band unless something goes wrong and for some reason it ends up in the 43 meter region , if that happens I will immediately cease all transmission(s)  and hit the bottle again... (sorry I digest  errr digress) 

But logic says one should use a dummy load...  Well damn it there is no dummy bigger than I and I am one hell of a load. sri about that... getting creative with the words and language...

As for 'pirates'...  on board ship for months, sometimes years,  it must be a lonely life indeed lacking the comforts of a kindly and comely woman... or it is until the First-mate bends over and gets it driven hard up the fundament...    Bring out large casks of Rum and consume it with great gusto and pass the First-mate around after the Rum...  so you want to be a Pirate?... not me... Homey don't play dat OK...  But sitting in my little radio room with me Lady on me lap...  heh heh I might be up for anything... :-)

Later folks....

Vince
73 Vince
KA1IIC

"If you can't be anything, you can at least be annoying"

Troy, Ohio. 20m Vertical & low long wire E/W, Yaesu FT-187ND, SDRplay 2, Ratt Shack 2 meter rig, and other little bits of electronics I'm not talking about, homebrewed and otherwise... so there bleech!

uhf35

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: does anyone on here know if an IRF610 is a replacement for a IRF510
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2017, 0003 UTC »
And, the answer is YES. But... (always there is a "but") It is true only electronically speaking. The major problem for the 620 to use in RF is a Rds (on) (1,5) against 0,54 of 510 (in fact, the most reliably is IRF520 with 0,27.) A resistance from drain to source low, there will be a tiny voltage drop across it and more signal into amplifier ;)

Stretchyman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: does anyone on here know if an IRF610 is a replacement for a IRF510
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2017, 0922 UTC »
The Facts have already been stated but folk seem hung up on using what they have to hand / in their junk box, whatever.

Whilst being resourcful it does nothing to push forward the knowledge and use of more recent technology.

GaN is the way forward, the devices will get cheaper.

The TPS devices can be driven (40m and below) with the 'Usual' 74HC240 running at 5V (Yes ONLY 5V!) and will happily give a 40W carrier @ 24V.

They'll go much higher in freq but need a 'proper' fet driver.

End of....

 ;)


« Last Edit: September 24, 2017, 0830 UTC by Stretchyman »
'It's better to give than receive' so why RX when you can TX!

                            Buy one from me, NOW!

Great discounts on ALL my transmitters if purchased via HFUnderground


                                              ;)

ChrisSmolinski

  • Administrator
  • DX Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 17506
    • View Profile
    • Black Cat Systems
Re: does anyone on here know if an IRF610 is a replacement for a IRF510
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2017, 1821 UTC »
http://semiengineering.com/what-happened-to-gan-and-sic/

From 2015, so a little out of date, but explains why GaN parts are $$$ and difficult to find.
Chris Smolinski
Westminster, MD
eQSLs appreciated! Send to: csmolinski@blackcatsystems.com
JRC-NRD 545 / RF Space netSDR / 670 ft horizontal loop / 500 ft beverage / 43mb sloping folded dipole / Crossed Parallel Loop

didu heardat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: does anyone on here know if an IRF610 is a replacement for a IRF510
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2017, 0205 UTC »
i'll have to go buy one of those fancy new fangled coffee makers now.
i hate visiting the appliance store but i can't be using old technology to keep my coffee warm no longer.

damn i'm gonna miss all those glowing tubes(driven by a irf510 at times) that keeps my coffee warm ;-) ;-)

« Last Edit: October 10, 2017, 0206 UTC by didu heardat »