We seek to understand and document all radio transmissions, legal and otherwise, as part of the radio listening hobby. We do not encourage any radio operations contrary to regulations. Always consult with the appropriate authorities if you have questions concerning what is permissible in your locale.

Author Topic: Newbie needs help on antenna for a Comm Radio CR-1  (Read 2238 times)

Offline dizzyX

• View Profile
Newbie needs help on antenna for a Comm Radio CR-1
« on: January 22, 2020, 0352 UTC »
Hello, I am quite new to the SW Receiver world.
I recently acquired a Comm Radio CR-1 and am trying to figure out a decent antenna setup.
I am looking at ...
  MW-HF Antenna Port 1:  High impedance input for random wire.
      3.5 mm (1/8”) female-mono-jack. 

MW-HF   Antenna Port 2:  BNC Female – 50 Ohm.

VHF-UHF Antenna Port 3:  BNC Female – 50 Ohm.
and
  External Chassis Ground Connection

I'm just not sure where to start. At the moment I don't want to be an antenna expert but am looking more for a simple external SW receiver antenna.

Thank you in advance..Richard

Even an affordable commercial pre-assembled setup would be fine.

Matt285

Re: Newbie needs help on antenna for a Comm Radio CR-1
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2020, 1822 UTC »
Hf- The usual suspects                                                                                                                    UHF/VHF
-Random wire (tuner optional)                                                                                                        Discone antennas- Many manufactures
-Par end fed SWL                                                                                                                            Vertical  antenna- Maybe even a 2m/440 model
-Tuned dipoles for specific areas                                                                                                     Small vertically polarized Yagi (TV/FM)