We seek to understand and document all radio transmissions, legal and otherwise, as part of the radio listening hobby. We do not encourage any radio operations contrary to regulations. Always consult with the appropriate authorities if you have questions concerning what is permissible in your locale.

Author Topic: Help a newcomer with SDR Antenna  (Read 1465 times)

Offline NoSlacking

• Norwich, UK
    • View Profile
Help a newcomer with SDR Antenna
« on: July 10, 2020, 1440 UTC »
Hello all,

I'm fairly new to the radio hobby, mostly with an interest in shortwave listening. I currently use a small portable recevier, a Tecsun 310ET. I would like to upgrade to an SDR, but as a newcomer there are some things I am uncertain about.

I've had a bit of a research regarding SDRs and I like the look of the Airpsy HF+ Discovery, but I'm unsure of what to do in terms of an antenna. At home i live on a 3rd floor flat, so erecting a large antenna outdoors is not really an option for me at the moment. Currently I hang a wire antenna out of the window and plug it into the 3.5mm antenna jack on the Tecsun, but for an SDR I would need an antenna with a "proper" connection; which is another thing I am unfamiliar with.

Basically what I am asking is: Can anyone suggest an indoor antenna suitable for HF listening, that is compatible with the Airpsy HF+ Discovery?

Offline ChrisSmolinski

• Administrator
  • Marconi Class DXer
  • Westminster, MD USA
    • View Profile
    • Black Cat Systems
Re: Help a newcomer with SDR Antenna
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2020, 1453 UTC »