We seek to understand and document all radio transmissions, legal and otherwise, as part of the radio listening hobby. We do not encourage any radio operations contrary to regulations. Always consult with the appropriate authorities if you have questions concerning what is permissible in your locale.

Author Topic: If you had it all to do over again...  (Read 1961 times)

Offline ichthys

• View Profile
    • Email
If you had it all to do over again...
« on: November 29, 2020, 0045 UTC »
I'm a technical novice who moved to a remote area a few months ago, and am looking for a new hobby.
Our new town only has about hundred people spread out over a square mile or so.
Other towns with stations are 30 miles or more away.
No shopping centers, only a few open-to-the-public businesses, so there's never been any "official" media here, or other station's ad revenue to hurt.
Part 15 has always been an interest to me, but I've just never pulled the trigger.
Never wanted to raise any gov/radio cluster hackles in the urban places we lived before.
And never really had the space.
I checked the dial here, and FM has a few open frequencies, I think.
There's only 4 AM stations listed on radio-locator unless you click "include fringe stations." But I've never heard any of the fringe AMs in the car.
I like that more people are probably scanning around on FM, and the signal won't completely disappear at dark,
but AM seems like a bigger playground where no one would ever "care" and I might could squeeze out a little bit further in the day. Even if it's only 50 feet "further" that's okay. lol
The goal is mostly to learn, practice some soldering, and surreptitiously see if anyone ever notices outside my yard.
I don't intend to break all the rules like Christian Slater in that movie, but I figure if I do, out here, probably no one will notice before I can fix whatever I broke in the system.

So I'm thinking, for those of you who have played with Part 15 longer than I: