We seek to understand and document all radio transmissions, legal and otherwise, as part of the radio listening hobby. We do not encourage any radio operations contrary to regulations. Always consult with the appropriate authorities if you have questions concerning what is permissible in your locale.

Author Topic: What does Sx mean in terms of signal strength?  (Read 2130 times)

Offline Antennae

• CA, USA
    • View Profile
What does Sx mean in terms of signal strength?
« on: November 09, 2013, 2238 UTC »
Hi, I'm new in these parts.  And I'm enjoying capturing pirate stations.  I would like to give the standardized reception report but I'm not sure what it is.  I see everybody giving "S" and a number in regards to signal strength.  What is it?
California Coast
Antenna: random wire

Offline jFarley

• Marconi Class DXer
  • near Chicago
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: What does Sx mean in terms of signal strength?
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2013, 2311 UTC »
Here's a link to a wiki article on the subject.  It's not too technical, nor is it dumbed down.  This should give a good idea about what people are talking about.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S_meter
Joe Farley, Near Chicago
SDR-IQ / R8 / R7
Remote Resonant Loops for HF and LF / ALA 1530
Active 60" Whip / PA0RDT
QSLS appreciated to:    jfarley44@att.net

Offline skeezix

• Global Moderator
  • Marconi Class DXer
  • Minneapolis, MN
  • What does 'RNO stand for?
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2013, 2315 UTC »
In addition to the s-meter, I like giving a SINPO rating. That's more subjective, but there's no standard calibration for s-meters. Ideally, a field strength meter would be best, however, they're expensive and frankly, not worth the cost for most people.

http://www.hfunderground.com/wiki/SINPO

Minneapolis, MN

Offline Antennae

• CA, USA
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2013, 0002 UTC »