We seek to understand and document all radio transmissions, legal and otherwise, as part of the radio listening hobby. We do not encourage any radio operations contrary to regulations. Always consult with the appropriate authorities if you have questions concerning what is permissible in your locale.

Author Topic: Odd behavior from Ameritron Amplifier  (Read 14221 times)

jackson_r

Odd behavior from Ameritron Amplifier
« on: December 07, 2015, 1425 UTC »
I'm a newbie when it comes to amplifiers, and I'm trying to load up my first one with an Ameritron AL-80 connected to my IC-735.  I have a wire run from the ALC jack on the back of the amp to the ALC jack on the back of the 735.  Another wire runs from the "relay" jack on the back of the amp to the "send" jack on the 735.  When trying to load the amp, I confirm that the "XMIT" light on the amp turns on and I can hear the relay click in the amp.  So far, so good.  But here's where it gets weird...my output meter (which goes in to a dummy load), pegs hard to the left at zero when I turn on the amp.  It does this in AM or SSB, and regardless of my drive level.  The person I bought the AL-80 from is perplexed as well, but has been trying to help my troubleshoot.  So far we've made sure all the RF in/out connections are proper and have also made sure the proper band has been selected on the amp.  He also suggested disconnecting the "ALC" connection between the 735 and the amp as he said, "most people don't use it or need it."  Still the same result. 

I'm beginning to wonder if the 735 might not be capable of properly switching an old amp like this?  I'm thinking I might need something like an "ampkeyer" that's supposed to help interface newer solid state rigs with old amplifiers.  Does anyone have thoughts on this, or perhaps some other tips I may not have tried?

Offline Stretchyman

• View Profile
Re: Odd behavior from Ameritron Amplifier
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2015, 1504 UTC »