We seek to understand and document all radio transmissions, legal and otherwise, as part of the radio listening hobby. We do not encourage any radio operations contrary to regulations. Always consult with the appropriate authorities if you have questions concerning what is permissible in your locale.

Author Topic: Any DDS 200 watt AM Transmitters or kits  (Read 11815 times)

Offline digitalmod

• Cherokee Foot Hills, SC
  • Freedom includes Radio Broadcasting
    • View Profile
    • Email
Any DDS 200 watt AM Transmitters or kits
« on: November 27, 2017, 1348 UTC »
 I am a retire engineer and yes very frustrated with the CB-Ham old man crap so now what's next? Most AM stations are exclusively using FET class E transmitters these days. I find very few designs for such as a Pirate high quality transmitter. In fact, so far I have located only FETS and DDS chips which after all, without a lab and shop equipped system including a scope, rather make making my own rubbish at this time. But perhaps somebody has designed a pirate class E AM transmitter. They are very high quality with wonderful baseband audio potential. Just, look as I have, they are no where, as scare as hen's teeth.

Jay
Radio is dying. We need to give it shelter

Offline Pigmeat

• Marconi Class DXer
    • View Profile
Re: Any DDS 200 watt AM Transmitters or kits
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2017, 1752 UTC »
I've had a 14 watt class E transmitter for nearly 20 years, and it was used when I got it. The problem is the guys who build them come and go. It's a labor of love for them, it's not like they're making a pile of money from it.

There are people who will make them to your specs, including one who has his 10 watt rigs for sale on the site, but be prepared to lay out a few bucks for the high powered ones.

I'd ask our guy on this board if he's up to building one with that kind of power. He backs up what he sells and will handhold you through getting it on the air.

Offline Channel Z

• View Profile