We seek to understand and document all radio transmissions, legal and otherwise, as part of the radio listening hobby. We do not encourage any radio operations contrary to regulations. Always consult with the appropriate authorities if you have questions concerning what is permissible in your locale.

Author Topic: flex 3000 for a transmitter?  (Read 2299 times)

Offline boston_strangler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • new england
  • The northeast big hammer transmitter
    • View Profile
    • Email
flex 3000 for a transmitter?
« on: October 31, 2020, 1854 UTC »
I was thinking of using my flex 3000 that is mars modd'ed. I am thinking of sticking to Ssb for now maybe am down the road.  I have a inverted V up about 65-70ft. Just finishing up some touches to do on the rest of the station. Anyone have some good tricks for the audio settings?
« Last Edit: October 31, 2020, 1858 UTC by boston_strangler »
(3) 3-500z's for that clean broadcast sound
Flex 3000
Inverted V

Offline radiogaga

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
Re: flex 3000 for a transmitter?
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2020, 1915 UTC »
I use the flex 1500, I believe the settings are the same for 3000.
https://flexradio.flex-radio.narkive.com/6aJNIaoW/flex-1500-optimized-mic-audio-settings

Hope you're using this software..... https://ke9ns.com/flexpage.html

Enjoy

rgg

Offline ThaDood

  • DX Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1224
  • Likely, not where you are.
    • View Profile
    • Extreme Part #15!
    • Email
Re: flex 3000 for a transmitter?
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2020, 1916 UTC »
Well, I've heard a Flex 5000 on AM 3885kHz last night, talking to the amateur radio AM big guns. And, thought that the Flex Op sounded near broadcast quality. Question is, what's the duty cycle of those Flex rigs for long time SSB, and especially AM, even at low power?
I was asked, yet another weird question, of how I would like to be buried, when I finally bite the big one. The answer was actually pretty easy. Face-down, like a certain historical figure in the late 1980's, (I will not mention who, but some of you will get it, and that's enough.) Why??? It would be a burial that will satisfy everyone: (1) My enemies will say that it will show me where to go. (2) On the same point, I can have my enemies kiss my butt. (3) It will temporarily give someone a place to park a bicycle. See??? A WIN / WIN for everyone.

Offline radiogaga

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
Re: flex 3000 for a transmitter?
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2020, 2037 UTC »
My 1500 has been tortured at 100% duty cycle AM and SSB at rated output.
Have no clue as to the amplified versions, I use a RM Italy HLA150 at half power(100% duty cycle) into the big box if needed.

rgg

Offline chanito

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
  • S.Texas
  • RF Exposeur
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: flex 3000 for a transmitter?
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2020, 2029 UTC »
KE9NS PSDR version will allow the 3000 to go 10kHz wide. It will sound clean and flat. The PSDR audio processing will sound OK on music, but it really isn't designed for that. Better to use an external multiband broadcast processor if possible. You can feed it into the Flexwire line level input on the back.


Duty cycle? While the 3000 has good cooling, based on my own experience with digi modes running 40 watts, depending on the band, it will probably not hold up to continuous transmit despite what the specs say. At a 1.2:1 match on 20m, the temp rises to 70c pretty quickly and the fans run full speed during one JT65 cycle. Broadcast program audio would be different but with processing for loudness may behave the same as continuous tones.



PCR-1000, PCR-1500, RSP1A, RSP1, VR-120D, HDT-1, Accurian HD, Royal 3000
Caras HF-315, Belar LP-1A, SuperAntenna MP-1, RatShack 20-043 discone, MLA-30, 100' wire

Offline radiogaga

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
Re: flex 3000 for a transmitter?
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2020, 2045 UTC »
chanito,
Does your 3000 put out full power on your TX waterfall ID?
My 1500 will only put out about 1/2 watt on ssb, other modes are the full 5 watts.

Just curious....

rgg


« Last Edit: November 04, 2020, 2049 UTC by radiogaga »

Offline boston_strangler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • new england
  • The northeast big hammer transmitter
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: flex 3000 for a transmitter?
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2020, 0245 UTC »
ya full power on the waterfall. they are nice mars moded. I have a flat match on the antenna. I don't have 220v in the shack yet and will be able to get ( 3) 3-500z's online soon.. production is my biggest problem now I'm  not good with putting a show together yet.
(3) 3-500z's for that clean broadcast sound
Flex 3000
Inverted V

Offline boston_strangler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • new england
  • The northeast big hammer transmitter
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: flex 3000 for a transmitter?
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2020, 2301 UTC »
My 1500 has been tortured at 100% duty cycle AM and SSB at rated output.
Have no clue as to the amplified versions, I use a RM Italy HLA150 at half power(100% duty cycle) into the big box if needed.

rgg

i sere 110 watt peaks with 100% drive on AM on 6925.
(3) 3-500z's for that clean broadcast sound
Flex 3000
Inverted V

Offline boston_strangler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • new england
  • The northeast big hammer transmitter
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: flex 3000 for a transmitter?
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2020, 2303 UTC »
KE9NS PSDR version will allow the 3000 to go 10kHz wide. It will sound clean and flat. The PSDR audio processing will sound OK on music, but it really isn't designed for that. Better to use an external multiband broadcast processor if possible. You can feed it into the Flexwire line level input on the back.


Duty cycle? While the 3000 has good cooling, based on my own experience with digi modes running 40 watts, depending on the band, it will probably not hold up to continuous transmit despite what the specs say. At a 1.2:1 match on 20m, the temp rises to 70c pretty quickly and the fans run full speed during one JT65 cycle. Broadcast program audio would be different but with processing for loudness may behave the same as continuous tones.

I have the ke9ns psdr running. I didnt know i could go 10khz thats nice. I have 1 1.0:1 on the antenna on 6925 0 watt reflect..hy-power antenna company and the 80ocf is what I have.
(3) 3-500z's for that clean broadcast sound
Flex 3000
Inverted V